Porter Anderson

Porter Anderson, Journalist, USA

Porter Anderson ( @Porter_Anderson) BA, MA, MFA, is a journalist, speaker and consultant specializing in book publishing and its digital disruption. Formerly with CNN and the Village Voice, he is today Associate Editor of The FutureBook for London’s The Bookseller. Everyone is welcome to join his weekly live international #FutureChat on Twitter from The FutureBook about digital publishing issues, live on Twitter, Fridays at 4 p.m. London time / 5 p.m. Paris / 11 a.m. New York / 8 a.m. Los Angeles.

His „Writing on the Ether“ column about publishing is read at ThoughtCatalog.com, which is frequently among the United States’ 50 largest sites tracked by Quantcast.

In conference programming, Anderson is program director for the 2015 International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF) “Digital Book” Conference that opens BookExpo America (BEA) in New York; Authoright’s London Author Fair at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden; and elements of The FutureBook Conference, set for December 4 at The Mermaid in London. He will also be again programming parts of the Frankfurt Book Fair’s Business Club, and his consultancy is a Media Partner with London Book Fair and its Publishing for Digital Minds Conference.

Additionally, Anderson is speaking and/or covering other events this year including: PubSense Summit, Charleston; IfBookThen, Milan; Indie Recon, London; Klopotek’s Publishers Forum, Berlin; the Muse and the Marketplace, Boston; HOW Live Design, Chicago; and Writer’s Digest, New York City.

Moderator:
„Fostering Fandom, Not Just Readers – How Passion and Community Can Drive Sales“

The E2E (End to End) movement continues unabated touching new sectors, products and thus customers every day. Publishing, authors, retailers and readers will not be spared from this change in how readers connect with books. Learn how the E2E movement, the cultivation of passionate fan communities and the new celebrity of the authors will affect the world of publishing. Learn how readers find books and what can be done to assure that passionate fans are engaged with your content.

(with Lance Fensterman, ReedPOP, USA, Nathan Hull, Penguin, UK / Mofibo, DK, Michael
Bhaskar, Canelo, UK, Andreas Gall, Red Bull Media House, A)